A Passage to India


Release Date 1984-12-14
Age Rating

A Passage to India

A Passage to India is a 1984 drama film written and directed by David Lean. The screenplay is based on the 1924 novel of the same title by E. M. Forster and the 1960 play by Santha Rama Rau that was inspired by the novel. This was the final film of Lean's career, and the first he had directed in 14 years. A Passage to India received eleven nominations at the Academy Awards, including Best Picture, Best Director for Lean, and Best Actress for Judy Davis for her portrayal as Adela Quested. Peggy Ashcroft won the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress for her portrayal as Mrs. Moore, making her, at 77, the oldest actress ever to win the award, and Maurice Jarre won his third award for Best Original Score.

Reviews View all

Noone has written a review yet. Can you add a review for this movie?

Recommendations View all

Noone has made a recommendation yet. Can you add one for this movie?

Actors & Characters

Victor Bannerjee Victor Bannerjee Aziz Aziz
Art Malik Art Malik Ali Ali
Saeed Jaffrey Saeed Jaffrey Hamidullah Hamidullah
Judy Davis Judy Davis Adela Quested Adela Quested
Roshan Seth Roshan Seth Amritrao Amritrao
Alec Guinness Alec Guinness Godbole Godbole
Peggy Ashcroft Peggy Ashcroft Mrs. Moore Mrs. Moore
Nigel Havers Nigel Havers Ronnie Heaslop Ronnie Heaslop
James Fox James Fox Fielding Fielding
Richard Wilson Richard Wilson Mr. Turton Mr. Turton


Ernest Day Cinematography
David Lean Director
David Lean Editor
Maurice Jarre Music
John Knatchbull, 7th Baron Brabourne Producer
Richard B. Goodwin Producer
David Lean Writer