A Fistful of Dollars


Release Date 1964-09-12
Age Rating

A Fistful of Dollars

A Fistful of Dollars is a 1964 spaghetti western film directed by Sergio Leone and starring Clint Eastwood, alongside Gian Maria Volonté, Marianne Koch, Wolfgang Lukschy, Sieghardt Rupp, José Calvo, Antonio Prieto, and Joseph Egger. Released in Italy in 1964 and then in the United States in 1967, it initiated the popularity of the spaghetti western film genre. It was followed by For a Few Dollars More and The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, also starring Eastwood. Collectively, the films are known as the "Dollars Trilogy", or "The Man With No Name Trilogy". The film is an unofficial remake of the Akira Kurosawa film Yojimbo, resulting in a successful lawsuit by Toho. In the United States, the United Artists publicity campaign referred to Eastwood's character in all three films as the "Man with No Name". As few spaghetti westerns had yet been released in the United States, many of the European cast and crew took on American-sounding stage names. These included Leone himself, Gian Maria Volonté, and composer Ennio Morricone. A Fistful of Dollars was shot in Spain, mostly near Hoyo de Manzanares close to Madrid, but also in the Cabo de Gata-Níjar Natural Park in Almería province.

Reviews View all

Noone has written a review yet. Can you add a review for this movie?

Recommendations View all

Noone has made a recommendation yet. Can you add one for this movie?

Actors & Characters

Gian Maria Volonté Gian Maria Volonté Ramón Rojo Ramón Rojo
Antonio Prieto Puerto Antonio Prieto Puerto Don Miguel Benito Rojo Don Miguel Benito Rojo
Mario Brega Mario Brega Chico Chico
Sieghardt Rupp Sieghardt Rupp Esteban Rojo Esteban Rojo
Benito Stefanelli Benito Stefanelli Rubio Rubio
Joseph Egger Joseph Egger Piripero Piripero
Aldo Sambrell Aldo Sambrell Rojo gang member #1 Rojo gang member #1
Marianne Koch Marianne Koch Marisol Marisol
Margarita Lozano Margarita Lozano Consuelo Baxter Consuelo Baxter
José Calvo José Calvo Silvanito Silvanito


Federico G. Larraya Cinematography
Massimo Dallamano Cinematography
Sergio Leone Director
Roberto Cinquini Editor
Alfonso Santacana Editor
Ennio Morricone Music
Arrigo Colombo Producer
Giorgio Papi Producer
Jaime Comas Gil Writer
Sergio Leone Writer
Victor Andrés Catena Writer
Fernando Di Leo Writer
Duccio Tessari Writer
Tonino Valerii Writer